--> New Kingdom Egypt | New Kingdom in Ancient Egypt
Egypt Travel Gate

New Kingdom of Egypt

New Kingdom of Egypt

New Kingdom of Egypt

When Kamose and Ahmose defeated the Hyksos and regained the unification of Egypt once again, the New Kingdom era began. This is considered by many as the golden age of ancient Egypt.

After getting rid of the Hyksos, the kings of the New Kingdom began consecutive military campaigns in the North and the South. In the North the Egyptian armies reached as far as the Euphrates River. While in the South, the Egyptian forces were able to control all over Nubia.

All the revenues of these successful military campaigns were used to construct breathtaking establishments in Thebes and all around it. A great example is the huge Temple of Karnak, the cult of the worship of the god Amun. Several successive Pharaohs had their own contributions added to this great complex of temples.

At the same period of time, the Pharaohs of the New Kingdom began constructing huge funerary establishments in the West Bank of Thebes. The great examples include the Valley of the Kings, the Valley of the Queens, the Temple of Queen Hatshepsut, the Temple of Madinet Habu, and the Ramssium.

Ahmose, the founder of the New Kingdom of ancient Egypt, as many historian’s assert, was a great warrior. His son, Amenhotep I followed the steps of his father and took control of massive lands in Nubia.

Afterwards, began the succession of what scholars named the Tuthmosis kings. These were sons born to minor wives of the kings but managed to reach the throne.

When Tuthmosis II passed away, his wife, Queen Hatshepsut became the first queen to rule over Egypt. She was even portrayed in many occasions as a Pharaoh with beards. The successor of Hatshepsut was Tuthmosis III, who was famous all over history by his nickname; Napoleon of the Pharaohs.

Tuthmosis III was one of the most successful warriors and army leaders in ancient Egypt. He was able to conquer Asia minor and regain the Egyptian power over the area over the Euphrates River.

All these military achievements resulted in more civilization and wealth. This was reflected in marvelous buildings. There are for example the Temple of Abu Simble, the Temple of Luxor, and many other magnificent structures that remained until today as evidences of the greatness of the rulers of the New Kingdom of ancient Egypt.

You May Also Like

  • Ancient Egypt Symbols

    There were several symbols in ancient Egypt that survived until today. Need to know ancient Egyptian symbols meanings? What kind of symbols were important?. Learn the meaning and uses of Ankh, Lotus Flower and other ancient Egypt symbols.

    Read More
  • Hyksos Invasion

    During the 15th dynasty, "Hyksos" people from Syria and Palestine emigrated to Egypt Delta. How was Egypt before the Hyksos invasion? what made the Hyksos invasion successful?. Learn about Hyksos invasion ancient Egypt facts and timeline.

    Read More
  • The Middle Kingdom of Egypt

    When Montuhotep II defeated the scattered kingdoms of Northern Egypt, he unified Egypt and started the Middle Kingdom. How long the Middle Kingdom of Egypt? How did it end? What was it known for?. Know the definition, events and achievements of Middle kingdom in Egypt.

    Read More
  • Old Kingdom of Egypt

    The period of the Old Kingdom of Egypt marks a very important stage in the ancient Egyptian history. This was the establishment of the dynasties period. Read Facts of the old kingdom in Egypt timeline, pharaohs and history.

    Read More
  • The First Intermediate Period

    The first intermediate period marks an important milestone in the ancient Egyptian history. What happened in The First Intermediate Period of ancient Egypt?. Read Facts, rulers and the timeline of The First Intermediate Period of the Ancient Egyptian History.

    Read More
  • Battle of Kadesh

    The battle of Kadesh 1274 Bc is one of the most famous wars in ancient Egypt. Read the facts of The battle of Kadesh Ramses II casualties, consequences and the treaty of Kadesh text.

    Read More
  • Flowers in Ancient Egypt

    Ancient Egyptians always gave special care to roses and flowers, they used to give it to one another in various occasions. Uncover how were Flowers in ancient Egypt history, culture, flowers used and flowers Worshiped in Ancient Egypt.

    Read More
  • Ancient Egypt Medicines

    Medicine has largely and impressively flourished in ancient Egypt, ancient Egyptians were the first to know medicine and anatomy. Uncover Facts about ancient Egypt medicines history, medicine recipes, herbs, medical practices and medicines in ancient Egypt.

    Read More
  • Ancient Egypt Music

    Music played an important role in the lives of Egyptians since ancient times. What did ancient Egyptian music sound like?. Read facts About ancient Egypt music, ancient Egypt musicians and musical instruments in Ancient Egypt.

    Read More
  • Jewelry in Ancient Egypt

    In a civilization full of wealth and treasures like ancient Egypt, Jewelry was treasured for its beauty and power. Why Did Ancient Egypt Wear Jewelry?. Uncover Facts of Ancient Egyptian Jewelry Making, The Religious and Symbolic Significance of Jewelry in Ancient Egypt.

    Read More
  • Inventions by Ancient Egypt

    The Pharaohs or the ancient Egyptians created a civilization that still astonishes the whole world until today. Here We Talk About The Inventions by Ancient Egypt, Ancient Inventions of Egypt and What Inventions Did Ancient Egypt Make.

    Read More
  • Houses in Ancient Egypt

    Housing has always been among the most important needs of humans. Explore Types of Houses in Ancient Egypt, Know How Did Houses Look Like, Ancient Egyptian House Model and Quick Facts About Houses and Homes in Ancient Egypt.

    Read More
  • Ancient Food in Egypt

    Uncover the Ancient Food of Egypt and Know the Ancient Food in Egypt. Learn About The Eating Habits, God’s Offerings, Poor and Reach Ancient Egypt Food and Drink. Food is among the most important elements of anyone’s life, same applies to ancient Egyptians.

    Read More
  • Clothes in Ancient Egypt

    What clothes did they wear in ancient Egypt?. What are the clothes Worn in ancient Egypt?. The ancient Egyptians had a civilization that is considered quite unique. This is in terms of many various aspects. Clothes and outfits are among them.

    Read More
  • New Kingdom of Egypt

    The New Kingdom is considered as the golden age of ancient Egypt. What happened in Egypt New Kingdom? What caused the New Kingdom to fall?. Here is a summary of the new kingdom Egypt facts, pharaohs and timeline.

    Read More

Discount Tickets & Deals

Egypt Travel Gate 2018 © Rights Reserved